The Best Education? Peer Education!

Hey, all!

This year, I was luckily selected to become a TCNJ SAVE (Student Anti-Violence Educators) Peer Educator, in which I have the responsibility of raising awareness and trying to create a positive change on my campus community. This group deals with more power-based violence issues, which really meant so much to me as I was applying for one of these great positions. I am so grateful I will be a 2013-2015 Peer Educator!

Right now, I am currently attending the 2013 New Jersey Peer Institute. Here, we learn the skills to master the Bacchus Gamma Exam; if we pass, we become CPE (Certified Peer Educator)!

These issues are important. They are important to me, and hopefully they are important to you. Domestic violence, stalking, sexual violence are not jokes, nor should they be ignored. It takes a lot for an individual to come forward and share their experiences with this kind of violence and treatment; however, it is not your fault.

I applied for this program because I want to actively participate in ending power-based violence. If I can inspire even just one of my college peers–sorority sisters, fraternity friends, athletes, club members, roommates, complete strangers I see in the lib café–I know I am doing the right thing.

I’ve been hearing awesome people speaking at this conference! It’s a three-day extravaganza (haha) at one of New Jersey’s colleges. Though it’s a jam-packed day, it has been super informative, helpful, and interactive. Today was only my first day! I am learning so much to bring back to my campus: different engaging technologies, listening skills, addressing change, driving safely, and gambling. We have covered so many important topics in such a short amount of time! The key is to find out how we can communicate our newfound knowledge and growing passion to get our campus fired up about everything!

Just a brief clip of my day! I will have so much to write about by the end of the week. I can’t wait to write about my favorite speaker…but who will that be??! 😉

2 thoughts on “The Best Education? Peer Education!

  1. Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    It is really inspiring to see a young woman taking an active stand and raising awareness on these kinds of important issues that so many people do just laugh off as “normal” behaviour.

    Like

Talk to me!

