Books on the Beach: My Favorite Summer Reads

I spent a part of my day thinking about the beach, as usual. I finally have the day off from work tomorrow, so me and my adorable little are going to have a beach date.

My favorite thing to do there? Pull out my kindle and lose myself to the sound of the waves, the warmth of the sun, and a great book. I LOVE re-reading books. I usually don’t have time to casually read until summer, so opening one of my favorites every June is like a new adventure for me. And yes, I have been reading the same books over and over again since I was 17…why do I still love teen books??!

Here are my favorite books to read when I’m relaxing at the beach:

Charmed Thirds by Megan McCafferty

charmedthirds

I love her whole Jessica Darling series, but the third installment is the most relatable to me right now. It’s unbelievably funny, and I honestly think it could be my diary sometimes!

Someone Like You by Sarah Dessen

SomeoneLikeYou

Sarah Dessen is one of my favorite authors…even if I passed the whole “16 and angry” phase. This is a story of two best friends who support and love each other no matter what life throws at them–death, pregnancy, and love. Best friendship conquers all! It reminds me of my best friend, Marissa (who has an awesome fitness blog!)

Sisterhood Everlasting by Ann Brashares

sisterhood-everlasting-cover

I grew up with the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series, and I was so happy to get the very last book of it. I cried and laughed hard. It really evokes the power of friendship and sisterhood…it real Such a crazy surprise at the end!

Dreamland by Sarah Dessen

Dreamland-sarah-dessen-12741252-449-700

Clearly, I love Sarah Dessen. As you may know, I’m a Peer Educator at my college, and this book broke my heart. It shows the path of an average teen girl who finds herself in a abusive relationship and can’t seem to get out of it. You spend every second reading this waiting for someone to intervene and help her!

Crank by Ellen Hopkins

crank

A complete 180 degrees from most of my favorite books! It’s about the powerlessness of a young woman spiraling into an addiction. It’s so powerful and so beautifully written. I recommend and love ALL of her books, but some are very moving and hard to handle for many people.

The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger

catcherintherye

We’ve all read it in high school and I haven’t stopped since.

I know there are so many authors who I would love out there! Throw me some suggestions!

Talk to me!

